Mutual Friend

27 Apr

I’ve met someone.

She’s great, we got on straight away, though I don’t suppose that was such a surprise.

It turns out we had a mutual friend who introduced us. I hesitated. I was so unprepared to meet her. Then she smiled and looked into my eyes. We shook hands, and I let my hand linger a fraction too long. She didn’t withdraw, and flashed me that smile again. I was almost tongue-tied, and didn’t know what to say. I supposed she wouldn’t recognise my voice , and said “Hello”.

We talked for hours. She told me all about where she worked, her favourite places and her friends. She wasn’t particularly curious about me at first, and didn’t mind me asking questions. Of course, I’d already known most of the answers, but I still listened. We seemed to share so many interests, it was almost uncanny. Almost.

We swapped phone numbers when we had to go, and she said she’d text me at the weekend. I had to stop myself finishing her number off as she rolled off the numbers. I couldn’t wait to call her again, though of course I wouldn’t be using the number that I had given her.

I arranged to meet her in town, after she declined meeting at my place. She said she had already planned to meet some friends out, and that I should come along and say “Hi”.

Sensible girl.

It’s been a few weeks now. We’ve run into each other a few times, she always laughs at the coincidence. I just smile.

She’s invited me to her place for a meal tonight. She’s an excellent cook. I think I’ll take a bottle of wine, a sweet white that she’ll enjoy. She gave me directions to her flat, but I’ve known the way for a few months now.

Should be an interesting evening.

13 Responses to “Mutual Friend”

  1. Natalie Bowers 27 April 2012 at 13:06 #

    Definitely creepy! :)

    • Annie Dennis 27 April 2012 at 14:56 #

      Yep! You are so right about the creepiness of this! Nice piece though.

  2. jmstrother 27 April 2012 at 15:33 #

    As others have said, very creepy, but superb in the execution. This is the kind of horror that can get under the reader’s skin, because is can be so real. Very nicely done. ~jon

  3. Mr S 27 April 2012 at 16:42 #

    Thanks for your comments! think I might have to write about bunnies and clouds next time to balance the creepiness out…

  4. Tim VanSant (@TimVanSant) 27 April 2012 at 21:37 #

    Yup, creepy about sums up my reaction too. Nice one.

  5. Steve Green 28 April 2012 at 10:27 #

    This seemed so gentle at first, but whilst reading I had the prickly sensation that something was not quite right. Nothing overt, but “Something”

    It is a measure of how skilfully this is written for it to induce that kind of unease in the reader. Well done.

  6. Terry Tyler 29 April 2012 at 16:29 #

    Very good! I do, of course, want to know what happened……

    • Mr S 30 April 2012 at 19:00 #

      I’m a little scare to think about that too much. Also, that was our 50th comment, thanks again to everyone!

  7. BrindaBanerjee 2 May 2012 at 02:28 #

    I’m shuddering – well done in provoking that response from the reader. I particularly liked the way in which the weirdness slowly creeps in when at the start the character seems like a nice person who is happy to have met someone.

  8. writingbeard 2 May 2012 at 13:06 #

    Reblogged this on writingbeard and commented:
    Nice bit of short fiction. Check it out and other pieces of work over at Quantum of Thought; courtesy of Mr S and Mrs G.

  9. lenleatherwood 4 May 2012 at 14:56 #

    Creepy in an intriguing way! Thanks for a good read and also for signing up for my blog at 20 Minutes a Day.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coffee shop « Quantum Of Thought - 4 May 2012

    […] some great feedback from last weeks #fridayflash, but it was the tale was a bit creepy for my liking. Here’s something for […]

  2. The #FridayFlash Report – Vol 3 Number 48 | Friday Flash - 30 June 2012

    […] Mutual Friend by Stewart Harding ~ @stukulele ~ Suspense […]

Peer review...

