Completion

27 Jan

Sadness weighs her down like a concrete coat. Anyone looking at her can see it, she’s sure, and it seems like everyone is watching. Hunching her shoulders over further, she stares pointedly at her mobile phone screen, stabbing at the keys and wishing they’d all just evaporate.

She finishes the message she’s typing and hits ‘Send’, releasing her words into the world. That’s that, then. Finished. There’s no turning back now.

Everything slows to an unreal pace. A strange voice gives a shout. It sounds like it’s a whole world away, muffled and unintelligible.

She closes her eyes and disappears completely.

===============

Auntie Em helpfully suggested a link to the Befrienders where you can find help & support in your country if the theme of this story affected you. Be safe.

5 Responses to “Completion”

  1. shah wharton 28 January 2012 at 14:44 #

    Is this suicide? Gosh, Brady Hardin also chose this theme? As I said to him, this resonates with me; I am the sibling of a suicide victim and the survivor of it myself. I assume the message is his goodbye and the shouting voice has come too late? Dark, very dark in 100 words. How much more ‘present’ can one get than the final moments of ones life. Good write. :)

    • Mrs G 30 January 2012 at 12:10 #

      Thanks for your comment, Shah. I really appreciate it.

      It is suicide, and while I’m glad you liked the writing, I’m sorry it resonated with you. It’s amazing how many of us this topic strikes a chord with. I’ve been close to the edge myself and I know how painful it is.

      I hope things are looking up for you now. Thanks again for taking the time to comment :)

  2. Mike 3 February 2012 at 18:44 #

    Short, but well done.

  3. marc nash 26 April 2012 at 16:22 #

    Really like the idea that you can text your suicide note now, so that there is no way it can be overlooked or dismissed. I hadn’t thought of this aspect before. There was a case in the papers this or last week where a woman had to watch her boyfriend live online for about an hour while he was behaving very oddly and it ended with him killing himself in front of her “eyes” on screen. And to think that I came by your two suicide stories via our tweets about reality TV shows… Synchronicity or something.

Peer review...

